Nobel Prize – 2019

In 2019 Nobel Prize in Chemistry was awarded jointly to John B. Goodenough, M. Stanley Whittingham and Akira Yoshino “for the development of lithium-ion batteries.” In the field of electrochemistry Nobel Prize was awarded twice: in 1903 Swedish physicist and physical chemist  Svante August Arrhenius was awarded  “for his theory of electrolytic dissociation” and in 1959 Jaroslav Heyrovsky was awarded  “for his discovery and development of the polarographic methods of analysis.”

Today lithium-ion batteries are the most typical accumulator batteries. They demonstrate high energy capacity, they hold the charge well and they do not require service treatment. Lithium-ion batteries are used in cell phones, laptops, digital cameras, video cameras and electrocars. They are used in the systems of microclimate maintenance in the Arctic, in solar batteries and wind generators, as the uninterruptible power supply, in laser measuring equipment.

IHTE researchers are working in this perspective scientific direction. Scientists from the Laboratory of electrochemical power sources and Laboratory of Electrocrystallization and High Temperature Galvanotechnics create materials for lithium-ion batteries on the basis of nanostructured silicon. Their goal is to improve greatly the lithium-ion batteries characteristics, provide high energy capacity and stability in the wider temperature range.

On the 18th  of October at 2 p.m. a seminar “On the Nobel Laureate John B. Goodenough” will be held in the conference hall of the Institute to celebrate this event. Dmitry Bronin, DSc(Chemistry) and head of the Laboratory of Cross-Cutting Technologies in Distributed Power Generation (InEnergy) will present a report.